Skip to content
SM Tutorials & Certification

Incident Management Certification Programs Research Report

SDI, APMG, ITIL or ServiceManagers.Org, there are many Incident Management Certification Programs available. In this research report we share with you all the options.

Incident management (IM) is one of the key components for any business continuity and resilience programs. The primary focus of Incident management is to restore the normal operations and functionality of any service after an unforeseen event takes place. It is focused on minimizing the negative impact on the business operations, therefore making sure that the top notch level of service quality are maintained. Incident Management certification programs are designed to train practitioners and professionals to develop a better understanding about incidents and how they impact the business. They are able to learn how an incident can escalate if not managed properly and form Incident Management teams. Through these certifications programs they are able to gain professional recognition as an expert in crisis and incident management. In this article we will discuss some of the incident management certifications programs that will help you in deciding the most suitable one according to your needs and requirements.

SDI (Service Desk Institute) Service Desk Certification

Incident Management refers to any event which can disrupt or disturb the service. These events are communicated directly by the ‘end users’ through the Service Desk function. Users can also report these events through Incident Management tools. One such certification program is provided by the SDI (Service Desk Institute) in the form of Service Desk Certification (SDC) program. This certification program is not only focussed to the Service Desk function but also to Service Desk professionals who are seeking professional development, with three qualification courses (accredited by APMG): Service Desk Foundation (SDF), Service Desk Analyst (SDA), and Service Desk Manager (SDM). This course is devised for development in IT support sector and more focus is given on Service Desk partial view, rather than in getting the whole Incident Management process big picture and paying attention to what really happens end-to-end.

APMG International ISO/IEC 20000 Certification

Another program, in this case offered directly by APMG International, is ISO/IEC 20000 Certification. This certification program assists IT service provider organizations to achieve conformance to a service management system which requires them to continually improve their delivery of IT services. The scope of this certification program covers only the general requirements of service management system, therefore lacks the essential detailed elements and concise information for putting in practice Incident Management, it is more focused for passing a formal audit.

ITIL Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) Certification

Another program is ITIL Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) Certification, which is an course and exam on a  bundle of ITIL operational processes for providing service support within the entire lifecycle of services. As its objective is covering 5 operational processes (Incident Management, Problem Management, Request Fulfillment, Event Management,  and Access Management) the information provided is still not enough for putting it into practice (you learn ‘what’ you should do, but not ‘how’ to do it). Therefore this program lacks of a solid practical foundation specific on Incident Management which can help you in reducing the damage to enterprise information assets. Another downside of this certification program is that the prerequisite for this is the ITIL Foundation certificate and participants must complete this one before enrolling in the ITIL Operational Support and Analysis (OSA) Certification.

ServiceManagers.Org Certified Incident Management Professional™ (IMP™) Certification

One excellent certification program for Incident management is provided by ServiceManagers.Org. As most of the certification programs are focused on generalized requirements of the service management system, which makes it difficult for the professionals to gain the confidence and knowledge for handling a variety of incidents. Certified Incident Management Professional™ (IMP™) by ServiceManagers.Org is the ultimate program which covers most essential practices of Incident Management. The certification program covers the best practices which are required to develop incident management strategies and dramatically transform your professional skills, as an effective and efficient Certified Incident Management Professional™. The key features of the program include:

  • Incident Management Processes
  • Learning Effective metrics for IM processes and operations
  • Understanding step by step approach for implementing IM processes
  • Acquiring knowledge to ensure that crisis and incident management is part of your business continuity plans
  • Improving knowledge on IM practical strategies and Best Practices.

At ServiceManagers.Org, the certification course has been designed for covering the industry demand for professionals in Incident Management. Practical exercises and theory cover everything from training and forming your own Incident Management Team. After successful completion of this course you will be able to manage the impacts of incidents, whether they are financial or operational.